What is Geo-Replication?

Unlike traditional Cloud Storage, Edge Storage operates with the main principle of data being distributed across multiple locations on the edge. Data is uploaded through a single main region which is then responsible for distributing and synchronizing the files around the world. As soon as a file is uploaded, a background process is started to replicate it across our geo-replication regions.

What happens if a region is offline?

If a region goes offline, requests from Bunny CDN are automatically re-routed to the next closest Edge Storage region, guaranteeing maximum availability even in case of regional issues. If the main region is offline, data uploading will not be possible until connectivity is restored.

How fast do files replicate?

This can depend on the size of the file, but the replication will generally be close to real-time and you should see any uploaded file replicated to other regions within a couple of seconds.

What if my file is not replicated to one of the regions yet?

In the event that a file has just been uploaded to our platform, but the file hasn't immediately replicated globally yet, Edge Storage has been designed to guarantee immediate file availability by providing the file to the closest Edge Storage region to the end user that is requesting the content where the file has been replicated. If an existing file is re-uploaded, regions outside of the main region might temporarily continue to return the old file until the replication is completed.

Available Replication Locations

  • Falkenstein, Germany
  • New York, US East
  • Los Angeles, US West
  • Singapore, Asia
  • Sydney, Australia

  Should I enable geo-replication?

If enabled, your data will automatically be replicated into the selected regions and delivered from the closest region to the CDN PoP. This will greatly increase data reliability and performance for uncached requests in each region.

🚧 Removing replication zones

Please note that once you have created your Edge Storage zone and configured the replication zones, that due to technical limitations you will be unable to then remove replication zones afterwards. The only way to bypass this is to delete the zone, and re-create it with your new desired settings.

 

 

 

Table of Contents

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful